Music Review: Music Complete by New Order (2015)

Release: 25 September 2015
Release: 25 September 2015

Ever since hearing “Love Vigilantes” I’ve been a big New Order fan. I find every time I start listening to their catalog a new album grows in my affection. Joy Division sparked my interest first, but time has proven that I favor New Order more. Though I know many will disagree, I find their discography incredibly consistent. I don’t ever find an album I don’t like, more often I find myself in an anti-New Order mood. Despite this I always come crawling back. They developed a sound that has been incredibly influential on music today, sure some modern bands have developed the sound well, but few can produce work so consistently memorable.

Lost Sirens was a great album, though it took a long time to grow on me. Eventually it did, and when it did I found that I had finally worked through the New Order discography without being let down. Brotherhood holds the peak, followed by Power, Corruption & Lies, Low-Life, Technique, Movement, Lost Sirens, Get Ready, Waiting For The Sirens’ Call and finally Republic. Needless to say I was very excited for this new release. Music Complete is better than their worst releases but not quite as good as their best. So it isn’t too surprising. New Order seems to be following a bit of a downward trend in regards to how good their albums are, and Music Complete does an excellent job of correcting this pattern.

Notable Tracks:

“Restless” – The album starts off with a bang and one of the best New Order songs in a long time. It doesn’t do anything new for New Order, but proves that they can produce songs just as interesting as ever.

“Singularity” – The second track is reminiscent of the more dancable New Order tracks. It is one of the strongest tracks on the album, but again fails to present anything revolutionary for the band.

“Plastic” – This track started as one of my most detested tracks on the album, but with every chance I gave it, it grew on me. It has a more memorable chorus and if given the opportunity, it will be appreciated as the really fun track that it is.

“Academic” – My favorite off Music Complete. I find “Academic” to be the most atmospheric song on the album. Listening to it takes me to a happy place filled with New Order nostalgia.

Music Complete declines a bit in quality with the album’s close. Despite its flaws, I find the album to be stronger from start to finish than anything they have produced in the last 15 years. There isn’t really a song that I feel the urge to skip. The album is in no way revolutionary. It is composed of modern New Order songs that seem to want sound like old New Order songs. I don’t mind, I love it. If you like New Order or just Electronic Dance Rock in general, then you’ll probably love their newest release. It has surpassed my expectations. I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars.

“Restless”

“Academic”

Leave a Reply

